Carleton University. Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. School of Canadian Studies

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Carleton University. Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. School of Canadian Studies

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Institute of Canadian Studies was established in 1957 as an administrative unit of the Division of Humanities and Social Sciences of the Faculty of Arts and Science. In 1963, the Institute became part of Division I of the Faculty of Arts, where it remained until 1976. In 1976, the Faculty of Arts separated into two faculties; the Faculty of Arts and the Faculty of Social Sciences, with the Institute of Canadian Studies joining the Faculty of Arts. In 1992, the Institute became the School of Canadian Studies. Past Chief Officers include the following Directors; Robert L, McDougall, 1960-1965; Marcel Trudel, 1965-1966; Robert L. McDougall, 1966-1967; Pauline Jewett, 1967-1973; Davidson Dunton, 1973-1978; vacant from 1978-1979; S.F. Wise, 1979-1982; Richard T. Clippingdale, 1982-1984; Jill McCalla Vickers (Acting), 1984-1985; Richard T. Clippingdale, 1985-1988; Jill McCalla Vickers, 1988-1992; Stanley McMullin, 1992-1995; Pat Armstrong, 1995-1998; the current Chief Officer is Andre Loiselle 2008-2011, Director.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places