International Council of Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

International Council of Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



ICOMOS was founded in 1965 in Warsaw as a result of the Venice Charter of 1964.


ICOMOS is an international body now headquarted in Paris, France (2017).

Legal status

ICOMOS is an international non-governmental organization (NGO) that is associated with, and acts as an advisory body to UNESCO. It was established by means of a resolution at the Second Congress of Architects and Specialists of Historic Buildings, which took place in Venice in 1964 to carry out the Charter by the same name. The Venice Charter laid out a set of guidelines that provided a framework for the conservation and restoration of historic buildings. (

Functions, occupations and activities

ICOMOS works to conserve and protect cultural heritage sites (buildings and monuments) around the world. They provide evaluations of these sites to the World Heritage Committee of UNESCO, in support of their being included on the World Heritage List. To that end, ICOMOS aims to bring together individuals or bodies (official or private) taking an active part in conservation. They work with numerous international organizations, be they governmental, professional or private. ICOMOS is a partner in the International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS), which works to protect the world's cultural heritage threatened by wars and natural disasters.

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

As of 2017, ICOMOS has over 9,500 individual members in 144 countries, 110 national committees and 28 international scientific committees. Most of their members are qualified in the field of conservation and are practicing landscape architects, architects, archaeologists, anthropologists, town planners, engineers, administrators of heritage, historians, art historians, paleontologists or archivists.
ICOMOS is composed of its national committees (NCs), to which individuals and institutions apply for membership. In addition to the national committees, ICOMOS has a series of international scientific committees (ISCs), in which experts in a certain field of activity within the context of heritage conservation are engaged. (

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC