Fonds SEN - Senate office fonds

Graduates at Spring Convocation, 1963 Prof. Wernham, Vincent Massey (receiving his Academic hood) and the Chancellor, 1963. Portrait (by Karsh) of The Right Honorable Vincent Massey, C. H., 1963 Dunton, Vincent Massey, Judge Gibson in a Convocation procession, 1963 Vincent Massey, The Chancellor and President Dunton, 1963 Dr. Beattie with son, Dr. Lamb and daughter, 1963 Arnold Davidson Dunton at convocation, 1963

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Senate office fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1949-1999 (Creation)
    Carleton University. Senate office

Physical description area

Physical description

  • 0.22 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Senate is the senior academic legislative body which represents the interests of the scholar in the governance of the University. It is charged with establishing the academic direction of the University and its associated faculties, institutes and schools.
In 1942, President H. M. Tory organized an Educational Directorate for Carleton College composed of members of the Board of Governors with faculty credentials. This served as the Senate. The Board of Governors was the sole governing body of the College until the Senate received official recognition under the Carleton College Act of 1952. This Charter, amended in 1957 to make Carleton a university, created a bicameral system where legal authority was shared between the Senate and a Board of Gvernors.
The Act gave the Senate authority to make recommendations for achieving the objectives and purposes of the University. Within its statutory authority the Senate may debate any issue, but the jurisdiction over that which it has sole authority is limited. It determines all courses of study and the standards of admission, grants degrees, awards scholarships and receives reports from its committees. The Senate also has the legislative power to recommend the creation of new faculties, schools and departments. These entities are established jointly by the Senate and the Board which ultimately approves all expenditures.
During the 1960s it became practice that the Senate would make recommendations to initiate policies involving matters of personnel and resource allocation that were the prerogative of the Board. The mood of social and government reform created a climate in which the Board was unprepared to act without Senate consent. However, under a collective agreement signed in 1972, the faculty unionized and agreed to discontinue the practice of sharing power with the Board. The faculty members of the Senate feared that by becoming too involved in university governance, they might lose the right to be unionized. The Senate has since strictly adhered to the legal authority granted them by the Carleton University Act.
The Senate comprises 71 members, primarily professors who are elected to 36 seats by their respective Faculty Boards. The other positions are filled by 15 ex officio members of the University, such as the Chancellor, President, Vice-Presidents, Deans, some of the Directors of Schools and the Presidents of the Students' Association and the Graduate Students' Assocation; 10 are students elected by students; 4 are Governors; and 6 others are nominated by the Senate and appointed by the Board.
Although the current University President is the Senate Chair it is the Clerk of the Senate who acts as its administrator. The Clerk is responsible for the operation of the Senate office, the coordination of all Senate business and the maintenance of Senate records. The past Clerks were: John Nicol; Jim Wernham; Gordon Couse; Dr M. S. Macphail (1972-1975); Dr. H. H. J. Nesbitt (1975-1981); Dr. Michel Gaulin (1981-1996); Dr. D. J. Wurtele (Acting Clerk, 1987-1988). Dr. C. H. Chan is the present Clerk.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds consists of one series, the convocation series.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

Records received directly from creator or members of the Senate body.Arrangement created by archivists based on content of records and sometimes of system of the office.All records subject to the University's Access to Information PolicyNo reproduction without the consent of the University ArchivistBox lists available

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres